Who we were, who we are, and who we will become

10 Sep

When I moved away, there was a little voice inside that asked why I wanted to make new friends when I already had best friends that sustained me intellectually and emotionally. And then over time, I realized something. They say that the journey begins with the first step. Well in the journey of life, I was very lucky because my first steps were alongside powerful individuals I grew to respect and love. I believe that the start of a journey can dictate the course, choice of paths and even the destination itself. We may not know the destination but I do know that we will reach it with grace, strength and laughter because those were our building blocks for the foundation of friendship.

I think my friends and I have all come to the realization that our destinations will differ and that already we no longer walk hand-in-hand down the same road. But for all this, we also realize that who we are today is a result of the strengths we have brought out in each other by being completely supportive and understanding. So wherever we end up in life, we bring pieces of each other with us. Whether it’s the disposition to believe in the best of others, a quick and canny wit, or a proclivity to think outside the box, the nature of who we are began with who we were. And who we will become is now before our feet.

My hope is that with this introspection, we will not be afraid to go into the world and take risks because we fear losing one another. We did not raise each other to settle for less than we deserve. May we boldly strike out into the world with confidence and purpose knowing that there will always be people who fully support and love you.

image

Leave a Reply

